Open and Affirming


Resources


ONA Webinar SERIES - Spring 2019

The ONA Coalition’s webinar series is designed both for Open and Affirming congregations, and for churches taking their first steps towards an ONA covenant. We’re providing five webinars in spring 2019.  All webinars are on Tuesdays at 7 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Central, 5 p.m. Mountain, 4 p.m. Pacific and 1 p.m. Hawai’ian, and run for about 90 minutes. The webinar includes time for questions and conversation. We offer discounts when more than three participants participate at one computer, so consider gathering a group  and projecting the webinar on a screen. Visit the coalition website or contact Andy Lang at ed@openandaffirming.org for more information!

Quick Glance Schedule:

  • ONA 101 - May 14
  • ONA 201 - May 7 and May 28
  • ONA and the Bible - April 9 and May 21
  • TRANS 101 - April 30
  • 1-to-1 Conversations About ONA - April 23

Learn more at: https://openandaffirming.org/ona-webinars/


NHCUCC's Open & Affirming Resolution


In 2005, at the 204th Annual Meeting of the New Hampshire Conference, United Church of Christ, adopted A Resolution Declaring the NH Conference to be OPEN and AFFIRMING.


RESOLVED: That the 204th Annual Meeting of the New Hampshire Conference of the United Church of Christ declares the New Hampshire Conference to be an Open and Affirming Conference, and that all people, no matter what their sexual orientation or gender identity, are fully welcomed into the life of the Conference.


BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: That the 204th Annual Meeting of the New Hampshire Conference of the United Church of Christ reaffirms the action taken at the 187th (1989) Annual Meeting to encourage local churches to become Open and Affirming, and commits the New Hampshire Conference to a non-discrimination policy with respect to persons of all sexual orientations and gender identities in every aspect of employment by the Conference, including, but not limited to, the calling of pastoral leadership.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED: That the 204th Annual Meeting of the New Hampshire Conference of the United Church of Christ joins the Fifteenth General Synod in "Calling on United Church of Christ Congregations to Declare Themselves Open and Affirming" and to adopt a policy of non-discrimination with regard to sexual orientation as well as a Covenant of Openness and Affirmation of lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, transgender, and heterosexual persons within the community of faith.